Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 5th, 2008

Josh Hartnett by Yu Tsai for Flaunt Magazine
Josh Hartnett by Yu Tsai for Flaunt Magazine

I know this is from a old issue of Flaunt Magazine, and in Industry years you might even call it old news. However, i cant seem to get it out of my mind.

Lets go back to the simpler days…when I was first interested in photography as a kid we had one medium, film. All the manipulation of the photos was done by steady handed artists directly onto the film. When you could look at a picture and dissect exactly what lighting was used and the burning/dodging was done blindly under the enlarger. Those were the days.

Now, I’m at a loss! The excitement that I used to get from that dissecting process (I know I’m a nerd) has turned to frustration and confusion. This shoot of Josh Hartnett by Yu Tsai baffles me. As I stare at it, which I do entirely too often, one might even go as far as calling me a woman possessed; the never ending variables that may have come to concoct this masterpiece fly through my mind.
How did he shoot these? Film? Digital? Is it all post production? Did he take long exposures and have Mr. Hartnett move slowly? What lighting did he use? What did his shots look like before post?

Either way i even went as far as emailing Mr. Tsai himself! (no response)
Alas…this will continue to torment me to no end.

Read Full Post »

Jon Emill Photo 

shooter: Jon Emill
Reykjavík, Iceland

I can’t read what the blog post says, but it is an HDR shot. The juxtapose of the heavy industrial smoke against the partially snowy mountains feels  like a message from Mother Nature that if we don’t change our ways, the snow may never return. If you look closely, in the middle of the smoke plume, left side, middle, the darkest area of the smoke, I think I see Mother Nature. A large chin, bulbous breasts and an angry brow. Like a genie coming out of a bottle.

tg 

Read Full Post »